From the demented comic minds of Mike Barker, Matt Weitzman and Family Guy creator Seth MacFarlane comes another hilarious volume of star-spangled insanity — including Stan battling the Antichrist in the outrageous “Rapture’s Delight” episode! Bumbling CIA operative Stan Smith will stop at nothing to defend everything that makes this country great — from strip bars to that most sacred of American institutions, The Goonies! Whether he’s trading brains with a racehorse or rescuing Roger from bloodthirsty revolutionaries, Stan will do whatever it takes to secure the blessings of liberty in this over-the-top salute to the greatest nation on Earth.

Studio: 20th Century Fox
Year: 2011
Release Date: April 19, 2011
Run time: 396 minutes
Rating: PG-13

Audio: Dolby Digital mix
Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
Disc Spec: 3 DVD
Region: 1

Every episode on this set is great. Can’t think of any that I really didn’t like. The season premeire “In Country… Club” is one of my favorites. Very clever episode(using golf carts as helicopters in a Vietnam War reenactment). “May the Best Stan Win” was also very funny. Love the futuristic cyborg version of Stan with a Canadian/Mexican accent. But perhaps the best episode ever is “Rapture’s Delight”, the 2009 Christmas episode. The 2nd half of the episode where Stan and Jesus turn into B-movie action stars who journey to defeat the anti-Christ while uttering terrible puns is hilarious. One of Stan’s best lines ever comes in this episode: “I guess I just picked a whole bouquet of oopsie-daisys.”

Starting with the first episode of 2010 “Don’t Look a Smith Horse in the Mouth”, this episode and every episode after it on the list above are shown in a Widescreen format.

Awesome set of episodes. 18 episodes is the most since Volume 3 and this is probably the best Volume of American Dad! since Volume 2.

Episodes: Disc 1

  • In Country… Club
  • Moon Over Isla Island
  • Home Adrone
  • Brains, Brains, and Automobiles
  • Man in the Moonbounce
  • Shallow Vows

Episodes: Disc 2

  • My Morning Straitjacket
  • G-String Circus
  • Rapture’s Delight
  • Don’t Look a Smith Horse in the Mouth
  • A Jones for a Smith
  • May the Best Stan Win

Episodes: Disc 3

  • Return of the Bling
  • Cops & Roger
  • Merlot Down Dirty Shame
  • Bully For Steve
  • An Incident at Owl Creek
  • Great Space Roaster

Movie Quality: 9/10

Special Features

Disc One 

  • Commentary on In Country… Club featuring Matt Weitzman, Albert Calleros, Murray Miller, Judah Miller and Lauren Caltagirone
  • Uncensored audio/scenes on select episodes
  • Deleted Scenes

Disc Two

  • Commentary on My Morning Straightjacket featuring Mike Barker, Chris Bennett, Brent Woods and Matt Fusfeld
  • Commentary on Rapture’s Delight featuring Mike Barker, Matt McKenna, Joe Daniello, Jeff Rebner and Kevin Thresher
  • Alternate Commentary on Rapture’s Delight featuring The Interdisciplinary Collective for American Dad Studies
  • Commentary on A Jones for a Smith featuring Mike Barker, John Aoshima, Jansen Yee, Laura McCreary and Matt Fusfeld
  • Alternate Commentary on A Jones for a Smith featuring The Interdisciplinary Collective for American Dad Studies
  • The Making of Rapture’s Delight
  • Uncensored audio/scenes for select episodes
  • Deleted Scenes

Disc Three

  • Deleted Scenes
  • Uncensored audio/scenes for select episodes
  • Commentary on Merlot Down Dirty Shame featuring Matt Weitzman, Josue Cervantes, Brian Boyle, Wendy Schaal and Dee Bradley Baker
  • Commentary on Great Space Roaster featuring Matt Weitzman, Jonathan Fener, Joe Daniello, Micky Rose and Jordan Blum

Special Features: 9/10

Final Thoughts

Let me just say that I am glad that they finally have decided to release a full season. In the past, though the sets and features were great, we only got partial seasons. However, Volume 6 features all 18 season 5 episodes. Hopefully they keep it this way and release full seasons in the future.
Overall Rating: 9/10